Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (formerly EVMS) Physician Assistant Program
Norfolk, Virginia · Masters
Fees not published
Prior full-program benchmark; January 2028 entrant tuition not published
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Holistic, non-rolling admissions. Your qualifying GPA is the highest of your undergraduate, cumulative or graduate GPA; prerequisite GPA is also weighed. The program values direct and indirect health care experience (HCE), volunteering and community service, with no minimum hours. A holistic Interview Day (individual and group) and a writing sample are part of the process. Class of 2028 averages: cumulative GPA 3.59, graduate GPA 3.84, prerequisite GPA 3.84, and about 4,461 HCE hours.
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
Invitations go out in June with interviews held mid-July, on campus. Interview Day includes a writing sample completed on site, and sessions are run by both faculty and community faculty. The program describes the process as holistic and aimed at judging fit for a rigorous program.
Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester creditsReview each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Math/physics/statistics route: College-level Mathematics OR College-level Physics OR College-level Statistics
- A&P route: Human Anatomy with lab + Human Physiology with lab OR Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs
- Organic/biochemistry route: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
- Microbiology/cell biology route: Microbiology OR Cell Biology
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Introductory Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesPsychology-department introductory course focused on human psychological development; no recency limit. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
General inorganic Chemistry1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesCollege-level inorganic/general chemistry; no recency limit. Survey courses excluded. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| College-level Mathematics1 course(s) Alternative to college Physics or Statistics; no recency limit. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| College-level Physics1 course(s) Alternative to college Math or Statistics; no recency limit. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| College-level Statistics1 course(s) Alternative to college Math or Physics; no recency limit. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| Human Anatomy with lab1 course(s) Separate Anatomy/Physiology route; each course needs 4 semester credits including lab and must be within five years of the application deadline. | 4Semester credits | Required | B- |
| Human Physiology with lab1 course(s) Separate Anatomy/Physiology route; each course needs 4 semester credits including lab and must be within five years of the application deadline. | 4Semester credits | Required | B- |
| Anatomy & Physiology I and II with labs2 course(s) Alternative two-course sequence; each course needs 4 semester credits including lab and must be within five years. | 8Semester credits | Required | B- |
| Organic Chemistry1 course(s) Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry; within ten years of application deadline. Lab not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| Biochemistry1 course(s) Biochemistry OR Organic Chemistry; within ten years of application deadline. Lab not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| Microbiology1 course(s) Microbiology OR Cell Biology; within ten years of application deadline. Lab not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
| Cell Biology1 course(s) Cell Biology OR Microbiology; within ten years of application deadline. Lab not specified. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
Advanced Psychology beyond Introductory Psychology1 course(s)Course notes & alternativesPsychology-department course focused on human psychological development; abnormal/lifespan/developmental recommended. Intro Psychology Part II excluded; within ten years. | 3Semester credits | Not specified | B- |
Policies that can change your plan
- m
- a
All eight courses must be complete and received through CASPA by March 1, 2027. No more than two prerequisites may use nontraditional grading (including approved AP/CLEP/credit-by-exam). Age-limit waivers for up to two courses are considered at the committee's discretion; ask the program whether yours applies. Survey courses are excluded; online prerequisites are strongly discouraged except in extraordinary circumstances. A course cannot be counted toward more than one of the eight distinct requirements; the program reviews equivalency.
When courses must be complete: Confirm prerequisite completion timing with the program.
Dates & application steps
All prerequisites and transcripts plus two completed references due March 1, 2027.
The 2026–27 guidebook lists January 2028 matriculation; the exact date is not published.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Prior full-program benchmark; January 2028 entrant tuition not publishedEarlier-cohort benchmark only; January 2028 entering-class tuition is not yet priced.
Tuition for the January 2028 entering class has not been published. An earlier full-program benchmark was $50,744 resident / $79,600 nonresident. Current posted Fall 2026–Summer 2027 rates are $7,249/$11,371 tuition per term, plus a separate $4,833 program fee per term and other charges. The earlier benchmark is not a good basis for comparing programs, and the program fee is charged separately from tuition.
Curriculum & clinical training
Preclinical instruction
Classroom study, simulation and cadaver anatomy build clinical medicine, diagnostic, assessment and pharmacology skills.
Supervised clinical practice
Nine five-week experiences cover seven core disciplines and two electives, alongside senior seminar and interprofessional work.
The full-time Norfolk MPA spans 28 consecutive months. Clinical semesters are approximately four months each; rotation order varies with preceptor specialty, availability and location.
The admitted class
Class of 2027 · prerequisite GPA
Published class statisticsThe program reports an average prerequisite GPA of 3.85 for the Class of 2027. This is a prerequisite-course GPA, not an overall or all-science GPA. Class labels are not entering years.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class of 2027 · prerequisite GPA | Not recordedOverall GPA — not published; check with the program. | Not recordedScience GPA — not published; check with the program. | Not recordedPatient-care hours: not available |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 95%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 95%
Accreditation history
Accredited-ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (formerly EVMS) program page-qualified class profile
- PA admissions page
- Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (formerly EVMS) curriculum
- Macon & Joan Brock Virginia Health Sciences at Old Dominion University (formerly EVMS) program page
- ODU PA Program Student Handbook and health sciences contact
- VHS tuition and fee rates
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

