Address & Contact

Our Address

1050 Wishard Boulevard Indianapolis, Indiana 46202

GPS

39.7787493, -86.1778113

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Indiana University Indianapolis, School of Health & Human Sciences Physician Assistant Program

Indianapolis, Indiana · Master

Application deadline Jul 15, 2026Passed · Submitted by deadline
Tuition Resident $69,211Nonresident $97,854
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 44 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement Not requiredGRE is not required.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo minimum; more experience preferred. No required minimum; more experience preferred Additional experience is preferred. Shadowing does not count as patient-care experience.
Overall GPA minimum 3.203.2 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum 3.203.2 science GPA.
PANCE pass rate 100%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 96%
U.S. News PA rank #48 (tie)2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputation
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

The mission of the Indiana University Master of Physician Assistant Studies program is to prepare compassionate and competent graduates for physician assistant practice and to prepare leaders in the field to transform human experience and quality of life, with a focus on meeting the healthcare needs of the community.

Health Sciences Building at Indiana University Indianapolis, home of the physician assistant studies offices
Health Sciences Building, home of physician assistant studies at Indiana University Indianapolis. Image: Indiana University; cropped and optimized for PA School Finder.
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review aligned to program values (Excellence, Collaboration, Professionalism, Leadership, Advocacy). Min eligibility: bachelor's before summer start, prereqs (max one outstanding at application, all before matriculation, C+), overall and science GPA >=3.2, >=2 LORs, required PCE (no min hours). Factors: GPAs (preference well above 3.2), prereq grades (B- or better preferred), PCE hours, leadership, community service/advocacy, personal statement, LOR quality, optional GRE. No preference for Indiana residents or any major. Applicants who previously matriculated in any US PA program are ineligible. In-person interviews by invitation.

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information

How this program interviews

On-campusIndividual + Group

IUPUI's in-person interview day runs a half day and combines individual and group interviews with a panel Q&A session involving current and former students plus a campus tour.

Source checked Aug 1, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRENot RequiredGRE is not required.
Patient careNo minimum; more experience preferredNo required minimum; more experience preferred Additional experience is preferred. Shadowing does not count as patient-care experience.
Overall GPAMinimum 3.2 cumulative GPA.
Science GPAMinimum 3.2 science GPA.
RecommendationsAt least 2 letters.
International applicantsAccepted with conditionsConditional: you need a foreign credential evaluation and must meet the university's international requirements. Check the admissions page for foreign transcript rules.
English proficiencyConditionalConditional for nonnative English speakers: the new TOEFL scale requires a 5.0 in each of reading, listening, speaking, and writing.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits (minimum credits per course)

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Statistics or Biostatistics including descriptive and inferential statistics
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)Not specifiedC
Human Anatomy with lab
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits; course alignment may be reviewed.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)RequiredC
Human Physiology
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits; lab recommended, not required.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)PreferredC
Combined Human Anatomy and Physiology sequence2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

For a combined A&P course, a two-course sequence (two semesters or a full year) at the 200 level or higher is recommended. The program does not say whether this replaces both separate courses, so ask the program to confirm equivalency.

Not publishedSemester credits (minimum credits per course)Not specifiedC
General Chemistry I and II with labs2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

Each course must be at least 3 credits; labs required.

6Semester credits (minimum credits per course)RequiredC
General Biology I with lab
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits; plant-based courses do not fulfill this requirement.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)RequiredC
Microbiology with lab
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)RequiredC
Upper-level human biology
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits; genetics and molecular biology, cell biology, immunology, or basic principles of plant and animal genetics. Lab recommended, not required.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)PreferredC
Organic Chemistry I with lab
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits; lab required.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)RequiredC
Introductory Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

At least 3 credits.

3Semester credits (minimum credits per course)Not specifiedC
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

Medical Terminology does not need to meet the 3-credit minimum. The minimum credits for this course are not published — check with the program.

Not publishedSemester credits (minimum credits per course)Not specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

c
o
i
n

Prerequisites do not expire. At most one course may still be outstanding when you apply, and all must be complete before you start. Check with the program on whether a combined A&P course counts.

When courses must be complete: At most one outstanding prerequisite at application; all prerequisites completed before program start.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJul 15, 2026 · Passed

Applications must be submitted by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$69,211 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$97,854 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Resident total is about $69,211.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic curriculum

Summer through the following summer develops anatomy, medical science, patient evaluation, pharmacology, therapeutics and procedural skills.

023 semesters

Clinical curriculum

Seven core rotations and four electives are accompanied by practice seminars, review and a graduate-preparedness portfolio. Listed rotations are four weeks.

27-month, 111-credit MPAS program. Electives may be in any available discipline within the United States.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2025

Published class statistics
Overall GPA3.87
Science GPANot recorded
Patient-care hoursNot recorded

These numbers describe the class that graduated in 2025; they are not current admissions minimums. The math/science GPA shown here is a different measure than overall science GPA.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 20253.87Not recordedNot recorded

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 100%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%

Accreditation history

Accredited-Continued
First accreditedSeptember 8, 2012
Next reviewApril 2027
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.