Address & Contact

Our Address

Lincoln Memorial University-Knoxville 421 Park 40 N Blvd Knoxville, Tennessee 37923

GPS

35.921897326154, -84.095035470537

Telephone
← Find PA SchoolsProgram profile
PROGRAM PROFILE

Lincoln Memorial University-Knoxville Physician Assistant Program

Knoxville, Tennessee · Masters

Application deadline Jan 15, 2027Must be CASPA-verified by this date — submit weeks earlier
Tuition $107,975Same for residents and nonresidents
Fees not published
Confirm current cohort
Class size 100 students
Program length 27 monthsFull program
GRE requirement RequiredGRE required within 5 years; no minimum, with the 50th percentile described as competitive.
Patient-care minimum No required minimumNo health-care experience minimum; experience is encouraged, and 24 in-person PA-shadowing hours are separately required.
Overall GPA minimum 2.802.8 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA minimum 2.802.8 science GPA.
PANCE pass rate 97%First-time pass rateFive-year first-time: 91%
U.S. News PA rank Unranked2025 PA edition · Peer-assessed reputationNo published rank for this program in this edition.
YOUR PROFILE & THIS PROGRAM

Check my fit with this school

START HERE · FREE CHECK

Check three basics

Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.

The quick check needs JavaScript.

THE PROGRAM

A closer look

Mission & approach

Consistent with the mission and purpose of Lincoln Memorial University, the primary mission of the LMU-Knoxville PA Program is to train future PAs to provide high-quality patient-centered care in the Appalachian region and beyond by providing a rigorous educational experience, with expanded training in surgical sciences, which supports each student’s academic success and professional development.

Lincoln Memorial University West Knoxville campus, home of the Knoxville Physician Assistant program
Program campus
BEYOND THE NUMBERS

Admissions insights

What this program looks for in applicants

Holistic review weighting: academic performance (cumulative & science GPA, GRE percentiles), CASPA personal statement, 3 evaluation letters, program-specific CASPA question responses, interview performance, professional behavior, healthcare/shadowing experience. Stronger academic profiles more likely interviewed. Preference: Appalachian-region residents (tiered: TN highest; then KY/VA/NC/WV; then OH/PA/AL/GA), military/veterans, LMU students and LMU GPA-Program students, articulation-agreement schools (Tusculum, Hampton, Union Commonwealth).

Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.

Program admissions information
FROM THE ADMISSIONS TEAM

2026 PAEA Virtual Admissions Fair

This program gave one of the clearest breakdowns of experience categories at the fair: patient-care experience can be hands-on care or directly supporting a provider delivering hands-on care; shadowing is strictly observational; and healthcare experience is a support role without hands-on patient contact. The admissions team stressed that only in-person shadowing counts, and that working alongside a clinician does not substitute for shadowing. A practical CASPA tip: you can add new shadowing experiences but cannot edit existing entries — contact the program directly if something needs updating. The program gives tiered admissions preference to applicants whose permanent residence is in the Appalachian region.

Shared at the fair on Jul 11, 2026; paraphrased program-level notes. This is a past event, not an upcoming session. Confirm current guidance with the program.

About these fair notes

PAEA Virtual PA Admissions Fair (CareerEco), July 11 2026 - program-level, paraphrased; qualitative only

How this program interviews

Interviews begin in the fall and continue until the 100-student class is filled. The program weighs academic performance, personal statement, letters of evaluation, program-specific responses, interview performance, communication behaviors and healthcare experience, and states that stronger academic profiles carry greater weight.

Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.

Program interview information
YOUR STARTING POINT

Admissions & prerequisites

Admission requirements

GRERequiredGRE required within 5 years; no minimum, with the 50th percentile described as competitive.
Patient careNo minimum; 24 PA shadowing requiredNo health-care experience minimum; experience is encouraged, and 24 in-person PA-shadowing hours are separately required.
Overall GPAMinimum 2.8 cumulative GPA.
Science GPA2.8 science GPA.
Recommendations3 professional evaluations; one must be a PA/MD/DO/DPM/NP who observed the applicant clinically; no personal/family references.
International applicantsNot acceptedOnly U.S. citizens and permanent residents are eligible.
English proficiencyConditionalFor nonnative English applicants without a U.S.-accredited college degree: TOEFL iBT 79 with speaking 26.

Prerequisite coursework

Semester credits

Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.

Choose one complete option in each group

Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.

  • Organic Chemistry or Biochemistry: Organic Chemistry OR Biochemistry
  • Anatomy and physiology course route: Human Anatomy and Physiology I + Human Anatomy and Physiology II OR Human Anatomy + Human Physiology
CourseCreditsLabMin grade
Biology, two courses of choice2 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

7 credits total; General Biology or upper-level Biology accepted. Lab for at least one of the two courses is recommended, not required.

7Semester creditsPreferredC
Microbiology
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; lab not required. This course cannot also count toward Biology.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
General Chemistry I course slot1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

4 credits. Any combination of inorganic, organic, or biochemistry coursework may be considered. Lab recommended, not required.

4Semester creditsPreferredC
General Chemistry II course slot1 course(s)
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits. Any combination of inorganic, organic, or biochemistry coursework may be considered; lab not required.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
Organic Chemistry1 course(s)

3 credits. Biochemistry is also acceptable. The course used for this slot cannot also count toward the additional Chemistry course slots.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
Biochemistry1 course(s)

Alternative to Organic Chemistry; 3 credits, lab not required. Cannot also count toward the additional Chemistry course slots.

3Semester creditsNot requiredC
Human Anatomy and Physiology I1 course(s)

4 credits; a 4-credit Human Anatomy course is also acceptable. Lab recommended, not required. Must cover human body/all organ systems and be within 8 years of application.

4Semester creditsPreferredC
Human Anatomy and Physiology II1 course(s)

3 credits; a 4-credit Human Physiology course is also acceptable. Lab recommended, not required. Must cover human body/all organ systems and be within 8 years of application.

3Semester creditsPreferredC
Human Anatomy1 course(s)

Alternative to Human Anatomy and Physiology I; 4 credits. Lab recommended, not required; course must cover all organ systems and be within 8 years of application.

4Semester creditsPreferredC
Human Physiology1 course(s)

Alternative to Human Anatomy and Physiology II; 4 credits. Lab recommended, not required; course must cover all organ systems and be within 8 years of application.

4Semester creditsPreferredC
Psychology
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; Psychology course of choice. General, abnormal, or developmental psychology recommended as preparation.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Statistics
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; should cover descriptive and inferential statistics.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
English Composition
Course notes & alternatives

3 credits; another writing-intensive course may be accepted.

3Semester creditsNot specifiedC
Medical Terminology
Course notes & alternatives

1 credit; should cover all organ systems. Certificates are not accepted.

1Semester creditsNot specifiedC

Policies that can change your plan

Course completion
All prerequisites must be complete before matriculation; more than three outstanding before interview makes the applicant ineligible for admission.
Course recency
Eight-year expiration applies to the two Anatomy/Physiology courses. No general expiration is listed for other prerequisites.
Course grade
C or higher in prerequisites.
International applicants
Applicants must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident. Prerequisite courses must be completed in the United States at an accredited college or university.

Courses must be completed at a U.S. regionally accredited institution before matriculation. No more than three courses may remain before interview. No lab is mandatory; listed lab requirements are recommendations only.

When courses must be complete: Complete all prerequisites before matriculation; no more than three may remain before interview.

BUILD YOUR TIMELINE

Dates & application steps

Application deadlineJan 15, 2027

Your application must be verified by the deadline.

2026–2027
THE FINANCIAL PICTURE

Know what the total includes

Published cost estimate

Confirm current cohort
Resident tuition$107,975 published full-program tuition
Nonresident tuition$107,975 published full-program tuition

Confirm rates for your entering cohort

Required program feesConfirm with program
Tuition + required feesFull attendance estimate not recorded
Confirm with program

Tuition for the Class of 2028 Knoxville program is $107,975 over 7 semesters, the same for residents and nonresidents. Program fees add $3,051 (Year 1: $1,230; Year 2: $1,163; Year 3: $658), so tuition plus fees comes to $111,026. Not included: health insurance ($12,204, waivable), books and supplies ($7,350), housing, food, transportation and miscellaneous expenses ($91,180 combined), loan fees ($550), and the first professional credential fee ($550). The school's estimated total cost of attendance is $222,860, which includes all of these items.

HOW YOU’LL LEARN

Curriculum & clinical training

014 semesters

Didactic study

Integrated clinical medicine, anatomy and dissection, patient assessment, procedures, simulation, and small-group learning include expanded surgical sciences.

023 semesters

Clinical education

Supervised experiences span primary care and surgical settings, including three electives in medical or surgical disciplines.

The Knoxville program requires 115 credits over 27 months and starts in September. Graduating students complete a summative evaluation (a final comprehensive assessment). The usual program length is separate from the 54-month maximum time allowed to complete the program.

WHO STUDIES HERE

The admitted class

Class of 2025 · orientation in September 2023, classes began October 2023

Published class statistics
Mean overall GPA3.65
Mean science GPA3.53
Mean direct patient-care hoursNot recorded

The university's September 29, 2023 story reports these historical averages and an entering class size of 100. Newer profile figures seen in search results were not on the admissions page and are unconfirmed.

Compare published cohorts
ClassPublished GPAPublished science-related GPAPublished experience hours
Class of 2025 · orientation in September 2023, classes began October 20233.65Mean overall GPA3.53Mean science GPANot recordedMean direct patient-care hours

Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.

OUTCOMES & OVERSIGHT

The program’s track record

Graduate outcomes

PANCE pass rates

See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.

  • First-time PANCE pass rate: 97%
  • Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 91%

Accreditation history

Continued
First accreditedJune 26, 2020
Next reviewJanuary 2035
CHECK THE EVIDENCE

Sources you can open

Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.

About the U.S. News rank

The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”

YOUR NEXT STEP

How competitive are you for this program?

Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.

PA School Finder × My PA School PlannerOne program record. One application plan.