Midwestern University (Downers Grove) Physician Assistant Program
Downers Grove, Illinois · Masters
Tuition + fees $138,526
Published full-program estimate
Check my fit with this school
Check three basics
Enter any GPA or patient care hours you know. We’ll compare them with this school’s published numbers. This is a starting point, not an eligibility decision.
The quick check needs JavaScript.
A closer look
A Downers Grove PA program integrating biomedical science, patient assessment, and supervised clinical practice in an interdisciplinary health-sciences setting.
Mission & approach
Develop competent, compassionate, professional PAs who positively impact patients, community, and the profession; values cultural humility and health equity.

Admissions insights
What this program looks for in applicants
Science and cumulative GPA, rigor of coursework, LORs, healthcare experience, knowledge of profession, motivation; holistic review; preferred GPA 3.5+, 1000+ PCE hours, higher-quartile Casper
Summarized from the program’s admissions information. Confirm current selection criteria with the program.
Program admissions informationHow this program interviews
All interviews are conducted virtually, August through January, with written decisions by the end of March. Candidates are chosen to interview on science and cumulative GPA, CASPer, rigor of coursework, recommendations, healthcare experience, knowledge of the profession and career motivation; at interview the program evaluates verbal and nonverbal communication, understanding of the profession, and commitment to patient care.
Source checked Jul 25, 2026. Interview formats and dates can change between cycles.
Program interview informationAdmissions & prerequisites
Admission requirements
Prerequisite coursework
Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course)Review each course, its lab, and the program’s policies. Your links are planning records; the program decides equivalency.
Courses shown as alternatives in the table are not all required. Confirm the accepted route with the program.
- Anatomy requirement route: Anatomy OR Combined Human Anatomy and Physiology (two academic terms)
| Course | Credits | Lab | Min grade |
|---|---|---|---|
Biology with labCourse notes & alternatives4 semester (6 quarter) credits; a science-major course, not a survey course. Online labs are not accepted except for specified COVID-era terms. | 4Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Required | C |
| Anatomy 4 semester (6 quarter) credits; no lab requirement published. A two-term combined A&P course meeting these hours may satisfy Anatomy; physiology alone does not. | 4Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
| Combined Human Anatomy and Physiology (two academic terms)2 course(s) Alternative to standalone Anatomy: two terms of combined Human Anatomy and Physiology totaling at least 4 semester/6 quarter hours. The catalog does not specify a lab requirement for this route. | 4Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
General Chemistry with labCourse notes & alternatives8 semester (12 quarter) credits; science-major courses, not survey courses. Online labs are not accepted except for specified COVID-era terms. The total can come from several qualifying courses, not necessarily one. | 8Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Required | C |
Organic Chemistry with labCourse notes & alternatives4 semester (6 quarter) credits; a science-major course, not a survey course. Online labs are not accepted except for specified COVID-era terms. | 4Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Required | C |
Math (college algebra or above)Course notes & alternatives3 semester (4 quarter) credits. | 3Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
StatisticsCourse notes & alternatives3 semester (4 quarter) credits. | 3Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
English CompositionCourse notes & alternatives6 semester (9 quarter) credits; accepted courses include rhetoric, composition, technical writing, or institutional writing-intensive courses. The total can come from several courses. | 6Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
Social and Behavioral Sciences (Sociology, Psychology, Anthropology, etc.)Course notes & alternatives6 semester (9 quarter) credits across accepted categories; psychology alone may not meet it. The total can come from several courses. | 6Semester credits (quarter-hour equivalents are noted for each course) | Not specified | C |
Policies that can change your plan
- Lab delivery
- Biology and chemistry lab components must be in person except the catalog-listed COVID-era terms.
- Anatomy equivalency
- A two-term combined A&P course may satisfy Anatomy; physiology alone does not. Check with the program about how combined courses count.
Science courses must be designed for science majors; survey courses are excluded. Online Biology and Chemistry labs do not count except during the Spring 2020–Fall 2021 COVID-era terms. Complete prerequisites before you start; as of December 31 before you start, at most one science and one non-science course may still be outstanding. No recency limit is published.
When courses must be complete: Complete before you start; as of December 31 before you start, at most one science and one non-science prerequisite may be outstanding.
Dates & application steps
The prior-cycle deadline of 2026-09-01 has passed; the next deadline is not published. Confirm with the program.
Know what the total includes
Published cost estimate
Published full-program estimatePublished nonresident full-program tuition
Tuition and required fees for the full program are shown separately. Living, travel, insurance, and personal expenses may be additional.
Curriculum & clinical training
Didactic education
Basic medical sciences, clinical medicine, clinical reasoning, professional issues and medical literature interpretation.
Clinical education and capstone
Rotations in eight core clinical areas and one elective accompany advanced clinical medicine and a capstone project.
Downers Grove’s 27-month program uses Chicago-area and other Illinois core sites. University housing at distant Illinois core sites has a nominal fee; students arrange local/elective housing and transportation.
The admitted class
Class of 2025
Published class statisticsProfile of the Class of 2025; it is not a profile of the current entering class.
Compare published cohorts
| Class | Published GPA | Published science-related GPA | Published experience hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Class of 2025 | 3.84 | 3.83 | Not recorded |
Published class statistics describe the named cohort or population. They are not admission minimums or acceptance probabilities.
The program’s track record
Graduate outcomes
PANCE pass rates
See first-time program performance with clearly dated national context.
- First-time PANCE pass rate: 94%
- Five-year first-time PANCE pass rate: 96%
Accreditation history
ContinuedSources you can open
Links to the program’s own pages and the official directories we use.
- Midwestern University (Downers Grove) program page
- Midwestern University (Downers Grove) program page
- ARC-PA currently accredited programs — sponsoring-institution directory
- Midwestern University (Downers Grove) curriculum/program page
- Program contact page
About the U.S. News rank
The U.S. News PA rank uses the 2025 PA edition, matched to the listed program and campus. It reflects peer-assessed reputation, not admissions odds or a personal fit score. Programs without a separate entry are labeled “Unranked.”
How competitive are you for this program?
Match AI compares your full profile with this program and every other one, then sorts your list into Reach, Target and Safety.
